Arkansas' Frank Ragnow Nominated for Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award


_72_Frank_Ragnow_FB_2016-2-2Arkansas’ Frank Ragnow is this week’s nominee for the 2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Ragnow’s father, Jon, died of a heart attack Oct. 1. Ragnow flew to his home in Victoria, Minn., with Razorbacks coach Bret Bielema and his wife, Jen, to be with his family. He returned to Fayetteville last Thursday and played in Saturday’s game against No. 1 Alabama, having prepared for the Crimson Tide from home while staying in touch with his teammates and coaches.

“I know this one hurt afterward,” Bielema said of Ragnow, according to “I had a chance to grab him before he walked off the field. He’s a very, very strong kid. An incredible football player. But obviously a really good person and a great son.”

Ragnow, a junior, has started 19 straight games for the Razorbacks. He entered this season on the watch list for the Rimington Award after a 2015 campaign that saw him surrender just two sacks on the season while not committing a penalty over the final nine games.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).


Back to All News