Five Stars of Orange Bowl Tabbed For 2018 Hall of Fame Class


Two of the most respected coaches in college football history, a pair of former All-Americans and a winning quarterback-turned-head coach are among a class of five inductees to the 2018 Orange Bowl Hall of Fame. Three led their teams to national championships in the Orange Bowl.

Florida State All-American defensive end Derrick Alexander, Nebraska quarterback Scott Frost and Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops won national championships in the Orange Bowl; Alabama running back Shaun Alexander co-holds an Orange Bowl record for his three rushing TDs and Virginia Tech coach Frank Beamer led his team to four Orange Bowl appearances.

The five will be honored at the annual AvMed Orange Bowl Coaches Luncheon presented by AutoNation on Friday, December 28 at Jungle Island in Miami the day before the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl, and presented to the crowd during an on-field ceremony.

Alabama head coach Nick Saban and Oklahoma’s Lincoln Riley and select players from their institutions will be the Luncheon’s featured guests, and the 2018 recipients of the Edwin Pope Vanguard Media Award and the Orange Bowl – FWAA Courage Award will also be honored.

The 2018 Hall of Fame class will join 114 others who have made an impact on the bowl since its beginning in 1935.

2018HOF_Website_DerrickAlexanderDerrick Alexander led the Florida State defensive effort in an 18-16 win over Nebraska in the ’94 Orange Bowl, clinching the school’s first-ever national championship. The sophomore All-American had a game-high 11 tackles, including two for loss, and parlayed his success to an eventual No. 11 NFL pick after his junior season.

2018HOF_Website_ShaunAlexanderShaun Alexander ran for 165 yards and three scores as Alabama lost by a point in overtime to a Tom Brady-quarterbacked Michigan team in the 2000 Orange Bowl. Alexander was the SEC’s Player of the Year and a consensus All-American after rushing for 1,383 yards and 19 TDs. The 19th pick in the 2000 NFL draft left Alabama with 15 school records and three SEC marks.

2018HOF_Website_FrankBeamerFrank Beamer led his Virginia Tech program to unprecedented success, winning 238 games in 29 seasons and 23 consecutive bowl berths. His Hokie team’s four OB appearances were highlighted by a 20-7 win over an 11-2 Cincinnati in the 2009 game. The College Football Hall of Famer was the consensus National Coach of the Year in ’99 after an appearance in the BCS National Championship game.

2018HOF_Website_ScottFrostScott Frost quarterbacked a pair of Orange Bowl wins for Nebraska in 1996 and 1998, with the ’98 win over Tennessee, giving the program its fifth national championship in Tom Osborne’s final year. Frost and fellow Nebraska alum Johnny Rodgers are the only two players to rush for five TDs in their careers in Orange Bowl games.  Frost is now the head coach at Nebraska, after a pair of years as the UCF coach where he garnered national Coach of the Year honors for the Knights’ 13-0 undefeated season in 2017.

2018HOF_Website_BobStoopsBob Stoops, the all-time winningest coach in Sooner history, was the consensus national “Coach of the Year” while leading Oklahoma to a national championship with a 13-2 win over Florida State in the 2001 Orange Bowl. His Oklahoma team dominated the Big 12 during his 18 years as head coach, winning 10 tiles, and making four Orange Bowl appearances. He’s won more than 80 percent of his games (190-48) at OU.


Back to All News

Tire Kingdom