Miami Lakes, Fla. – Game times for the 26th annual Metro by T-Mobile Orange Bowl Basketball Classic will be Noon and 2:30 p.m. on Saturday, December 21 at the BB&T Center in Sunrise, Fla.  All four teams in this year’s Classic played in post-season tournaments a year ago; three in the NCAA Tournament.

The Noon game will feature the South Florida Bulls versus the Florida State Seminoles, followed by the Utah State Aggies against the Florida Gators. Both games will be televised nationally (the Noon game on FS2; the 2:30 game on FS1) as well as statewide on  Fox Sports Florida.

For ticket information please contact the Orange Bowl ticket sales office at (305) 341-4701 or visit For group ticket information, fans are encouraged to contact the Orange Bowl Ticket Office.

The Florida State Seminoles return to the Classic for the 11th time (8-2 record) after a thrilling run to the Sweet 16 in the NCAA Tournament and a No. 10 finish in the final Associated Press poll of the 2018-19 season. The Seminoles are coached by Leonard Hamilton who is the winningest in Florida State history with 334 victories in 17 seasons. They will take on the South Florida Bulls, guided by head coach Brian Gregory, who led his team to a school record 24-win season in 2018-19. Out of the American Athletic Conference, the Bulls had the top turnaround in the NCAA last season by winning 14 more games than in 2017-18 with 24 wins and a College Basketball Invitational championship, the program’s first postseason tournament championship since 1990.

The Florida Gators, whose head coach Mike White has 89 wins through his first four years at the helm will be making their 21st appearance in the Classic with a 17-3 all-time record, are fresh off a third-straight NCAA Tournament bid and fourth consecutive 20-win season. The Gators led the SEC in scoring defense in 2018-19 by allowing 63.6 points per game. They will host the Utah State Aggies and second-year head coach Craig Smith, who won more games than any other head coach in their first year in school history (28). The Aggies are returning four starters from last year’s historic season in which they won their first-ever Mountain West regular season title and tournament championship and made an appearance in the NCAA Tournament as the No. 8 seed, the highest for the Aggies in school history.

With assistance from title sponsor Metro by T-Mobile, the Orange Bowl Basketball Classic will be the only Division I basketball played in Broward County again this season.


Back to All News

Miami & Beaches