Iowa State's Meyers Nominated for Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award


Meyers,-Mitchell_2014_KSU_2Iowa State’s Mitchell Meyers is this week’s nominee for the 2015 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Meyers, a redshirt junior defensive end, is receiving radiation treatment in Houston for Hodgkin’s lymphoma.

“My neck was swollen and it felt like someone had their hand on my throat,” Meyers said in April. “I didn’t think I needed to go to the doctor. I mean, how do you fix a swollen neck? The trainers suggested I should go to the doctor and they took a chest X-ray. I knew something wasn’t right when they came back with the results. I then went to the emergency room and got a CT scan. That’s when they told me it was lymphoma. I was stunned. I said, ‘Could it be anything else?’”

Meyers,_Mitchell15Meyers went through chemotherapy treatment locally from March to July, and during that time he did not miss any workouts in the spring and summer. The Cyclones team came to the hospital in late July for Meyers’ final chemotherapy treatment to show support.

Meyers, who was first-team academic All-Big 12 in 2014 and started all 12 games for the Cyclones, has returned to Ames, Iowa, for several games this year. He was presented with a game ball following Iowa State’s season-opening win over Northern Iowa.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).


Back to All News