LSU's Fournette Nominated for Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award


fournetteleonard13LSU’s Leonard Fournette is this week’s nominee for the 2015 Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Fournette, a 6-foot-1, 230-pound running back from New Orleans, is the nation’s leading rusher (864 yards) and the early-season frontrunner for the Heisman Trophy. The sophomore was displaced 10 years ago because of Hurricane Katrina, which forced him and his family to live on a bridge for five days and four nights before a number of moves.

“Surviving, man. That’s when the whole city came together as a family, doing as much as we can for each other,” Fournette said last month during an ESPN “College GameDay” feature on his background.

fournetteleonardFournette said in the feature that he saw dead bodies and people getting shot while he and his family lived on the bridge. He and his family moved to Baton Rouge, La.; Corpus Christi, Tex.; and Portland, Tex., before settling back in New Orleans, although their old neighborhood was destroyed.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).



Back to All News

2021 Hard Rock Banner