Missouri's Adam Ploudre Nominated for Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award


Ploudre-3U9A1806Missouri’s Adam Ploudre is this week’s nominee for the 2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Ploudre broke both bones in his lower left leg while entering his junior season in high school, in 2011. Some doctors believed he would never play football, much less be able to walk again. The ensuing recovery required seven different surgeries and a 49 week recovery. After several scholarship offers failed to materialize because of the injury, Ploudre walked on with the Tigers in 2013. A year later, his mother, Kim, was diagnosed with colon cancer.

“There were a lot of moments where I was the stereotypical ‘why me’ guy,” Ploudre told in October. “How can all this stuff happen to me? And the more I think about it, everyone has their story. Everyone has their own path.”

First-year coach Barry Odom placed the Ballwin, Mo., native on scholarship this summer. Ploudre earned a start at center in a Sept. 24 win over Delaware State. Additionally, the redshirt junior has started the past four games at right guard for the Tigers. Ploudre’s mother continues to undergo chemotherapy treatments but has been able to cheer him on from the stands this year.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).


Back to All News

2021 Hard Rock Banner