NC State's Darian Roseboro Nominated for Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award


ncstate10-18_roseboroNC State’s Darian Roseboro is this week’s nominee for the 2017 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Roseboro, a junior defensive end, starred in the Wolfpack’s win Saturday at Pitt just seven days after his father, Johnny, passed away.

“We gave him the game ball in the locker room and told him that his father watched him,” NC State coach Dave Doeren said after the game, adding: “I’m really proud of him. That’s hard. He loses his father over the weekend, and he just — I can’t even imagine that. That’s pretty special, for a guy to be able to do that, to come to practice right on Tuesday.”

Roseboro tallied a game-high three tackles for loss — including one sack — against the Panthers, adding a forced fumble and a quarterback hurry. NC State players wore helmet decals for the game with the initials “J.R.” in honor of Johnny, who was 43 and had been suffering from a long-term illness.
A 6-foot-4, 287-pounder from Lincolnton, N.C., Roseboro has tallied 65 total tackles — including 22.5 for loss and 12.5 sacks — seven hurries, four pass breakups, one forced fumble and one interception in 32 career games for the Wolfpack. “That was for you pops,” Roseboro tweeted after Saturday’s game. “Rest easy.”

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Pittsburgh running back James Conner (2016), Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).


Back to All News

Tire Kingdom