MIAMI LAKES, Fla. ( - No. 6 Tennessee and No. 7 Clemson are set to meet in the 2022 22_COOB_Team_Announcement_1080_x_1350 Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30, 2022 at 8 p.m. ET at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Fla.

Tennessee will be making its fifth appearance in the Capital One Orange Bowl and its first since 1998, when the team was led by quarterback Peyton Manning. The Volunteers also appeared in the Orange Bowl in 1939 (17-0 win over Oklahoma), 1947 (8-0 loss to Rice) and 1968 (26-24 loss to Oklahoma).

Clemson will be making its seventh Orange Bowl appearance and its first since winning the CFP Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl in 2015. The Tigers own a 4-2 all-time Orange Bowl record and won their first national title in the 1982 Orange Bowl. Clemson also appeared in 1951 (15-14 win over Miami), 1957 (27-21 loss to Colorado), 2012 (70-33 loss to West Virginia) and 2014 (40-35 win over Ohio State).

This will mark the 20th time the Volunteers and Tigers have met on the gridiron dating back to 1901, with Tennessee leading the all-time series 11-6-2. The two most recently met in the 2004 Peach Bowl, where Clemson won 27-14.

SEC East runner-up Tennessee (10-2, 6-2 SEC) owns the nation’s top offense, averaging 538.1 yards per game, and the country’s third-best passing offense (332.3 passing yards per game). ACC Champion Clemson (11-2, 8-0 ACC) owns the nation’s 10th best rushing defense (101.1 rushing yards per game allowed) and the 17th best scoring defense (20.1 points per game allowed). The Tigers have compiled 40 sacks on the season, good for fourth-best in the nation.

Tennessee’s Josh Heupel is in fifth season as a head coach and second in charge of the Tennessee Volunteers. He began his head coaching career with UCF, gathering a 28-8 record before making the move to Knoxville, where he currently owns a 17-8 record. Heupel is a former Oklahoma Sooners quarterback who won a national championship in the 2001 Orange Bowl as the Heisman runner-up.

Clemson’s Dabo Swinney is in his 15th season at the helm of the Tigers, owning a 161-38 record since taking over in 2008. He has led Clemson to seven ACC titles over the last eight seasons, three Orange Bowl appearances and two national titles, the first coach in program history to win multiple national championships.


Back to All News