Oklahoma's Rodney Anderson Nominated for Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award


Courage_OU_Anderson_11-15Oklahoma’s Rodney Anderson is this week’s nominee for the 2017 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Anderson, a redshirt sophomore running back, has overcome season-ending injuries in each of his first two years with the Sooners to become of the Big 12’s top rushers.

Anderson sustained a broken bone in his neck in fall camp in 2016, ending his season before it began. He also suffered a broken leg just two games into his true freshman campaign in 2015.

“When [they] told me I couldn’t play the second year, it really hurt,” Anderson told this spring. “But there’s a silver lining in everything. I guess the good thing I got out of it was I got two years to mentally prepare myself. The bad thing is that I didn’t get to showcase it.”

Anderson was named the Big 12 offensive player of the week for the second time in three weeks after tallying a career-high 290 all-purpose yards in Saturday’s win against TCU. The 6-foot-2, 218-pounder rushed for 151 yards and two touchdowns and caught five passes for 139 yards and two more scores against a Horned Frogs defense that had entered the contest ranked No. 1 nationally against the run.
Anderson became the first FBS player since at least 1996 to post at least 139 rushing yards and 139 receiving yards in a game. The Katy, Texas native is fifth in the Big 12 in rushing (672 yards), second in yards per carry (6.17) and tied for fourth in rushing touchdowns (seven).

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship.

The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Pittsburgh running back James Conner (2016), Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).


Back to All News

Miami & Beaches