Orange Bowl Announces 2015 Hall of Fame Class


The Orange Bowl will induct Alex Brown, Reggie Kinlaw and Ernie Koy into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame presented by Deloitte. The induction will take place at the AvMed Orange Bowl Coaches Luncheon presented by Deloitte at Jungle Island in Miami on December 30, 2015. Brown is the fourth representative from the University of Florida to be inducted into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame. Kinlaw is the thirteenth honoree from the University of Oklahoma, tied for the most from any school. Koy becomes the fourth University of Texas representative to receive the honor. 

AlexBrown2Alex Brown came to Florida as a standout three-sport athlete from Jasper, Fla. He saw action his redshirt freshman year, while backing up All-American Jevon Kearse. That year his Florida Gators made it to the Orange Bowl, defeating Syracuse 31-10 in the final Orange Bowl game played at the iconic Miami Orange Bowl Stadium. Brown was a starter each of his final three seasons with Florida, being named First Team All-SEC in all three. He was a two-time First Team All-American, earning consensus honors his senior year. He was named SEC Defense Player of the year in 2001, his senior year, and capped off his career with an appearance in the 2002 Orange Bowl. He recorded six tackles, two tackles-for-loss, one sack and two pass breakups as Florida defeated Maryland 56-23. He remains Florida’s leader for career sacks with 33 and was inducted into the University of Florida Athletics Hall of Fame in 2012. Brown was a fourth round pick in the 2002 draft by the Chicago Bears. He spent nine seasons in the NFL, eight with the Bears, and recorded 45.5 career sacks.

Kinlaw,_Reggie-1Reggie Kinlaw is a native of Miami Springs, Fla. and a graduate of Miami Springs High School. Kinlaw’s Oklahoma Sooners played in three Orange Bowls during his tenure in Norman. In 1976, Kinlaw’s freshman year, Oklahoma defeated Michigan 14-6 to capture its second national title. In 1978, the Sooners returned to Miami, this time with the All-American Kinlaw starting at nose tackle. Kinlaw’s 11 tackles were not enough as Oklahoma was upset by Arkansas 31-6, denying the Sooners a chance at another national title. Oklahoma returned the following year in a historic matchup with Big Eight rival Nebraska. Oklahoma avenged a regular season loss, defeating the Cornhuskers 31-24 behind another 11-tackle performance from Kinlaw to conclude his second First Team All-American season. Kinlaw was a first round draft pick in 1979 by the Oakland Raiders and he would go on to win two Super Bowls (1980, ’83) as a mainstay on the Raiders’ defensive line.

1965---Ernie-Koy-(Texas),-Open-FieldErnie Koy attended the University of Texas, his home state school. As a junior, Koy was a member of the 1963 Texas Longhorns team that won the national championship. The next year the Longhorns earned a berth in the 1965 Orange Bowl against Alabama. Led by Joe Namath, Alabama had been crowned national champions prior to the Orange Bowl game. That did not deter Koy and the Longhorns as he ran for 133 yards on 24 carries and two touchdowns in a 21-17 upset win. Koy’s 79-yard touchdown run set a record for longest Orange Bowl touchdown run to that date. Koy was drafted by the New York Giants, where he played six seasons as a running back and punter. He was named to the Pro Bowl in 1967 and retired after a season with the Buffalo Bills in 1972. 

In addition to the induction on Dec. 30, the new Hall of Fame members will be introduced to the crowd pre-game at the 2015 College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl. The game will be played on December 31 at Sun Life Stadium in South Florida, and is one of the two College Football Playoff semifinals with a spot in the National Championship game on the line.


Back to All News

Tire Kingdom