Orange Bowl Announces 2016 Hall of Fame Class


The Orange Bowl will induct Barry Alvarez, Jack Fernandez and Ray Perkins into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame. The induction will take place at the AvMed Orange Bowl Coaches Luncheon at Jungle Island in Miami on December 29, 2016. Alvarez is one of the few Orange Bowl Hall of Fame inductees to have both played in and coached in an Orange Bowl game. Fernandez made his mark on Orange Bowl history in the 1984 Classic and National Championship game, where his performance earned him Orange Bowl Most Outstanding Player honors. Perkins played in back-to-back national championship games in the Orange Bowl and becomes the ninth inductee from the University of Alabama.

Barry Alvarez made appearances in the Orange Bowl as a player for Nebraska in 1966 and again in 1990 as the defensive coordinator for Notre Dame. Born and raised in Langeloth, Pa., Alvarez graduated from Burgettstown Union High School and went on to play linebacker at the University of Nebraska. In the 1966 Orange Bowl and National Championship, Alvarez played solid defense in the Huskers’ 39-28 loss to Alabama. Alvarez returned to the Orange Bowl – this time as a coach – in 1990 as the defensive coordinator at Notre Dame. The Fighting Irish defeated Colorado, as Alvarez’s defense limited the Buffaloes to 282 total yards and six points in a 21-6 victory. The very next season, he went on to serve as the head football coach for the University of Wisconsin, leading the Badgers from 1990-2005, compiling a 119-74-4 overall record. Alvarez retired at the conclusion of the 2005 season to become Athletic Director at Wisconsin, a position which he retains today.

Jack Fernandez had one of the all-time great performances in Orange Bowl history, a hometown kid who came off the bench to lead the Miami Hurricanes to its first national title in the 1984 Orange Bowl. After starting middle linebacker Ken Sisk was injured on the opening kickoff, Fernandez took over for the Canes with 15 tackles and an interception in the 31-30 Miami win over Nebraska. Fernandez’s interception of Turner Gill’s pass at the Miami 35-yard line resulted in a crucial Bernie Kosar to Glenn Dennison touchdown. For his performance, Fernandez was named the 1984 Orange Bowl defensive Most Outstanding Player (MOP). Out of Miami’s nine appearances in the Orange Bowl, Fernandez is one of only two Hurricanes to be awarded with defensive MOP honors. He is the third member of the 1984 Miami Hurricanes national championship team to be inducted into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame, joining legendary head coach Howard Schnellenberger (1993) and quarterback Kosar (1997).

Ray Perkins was a standout wide receiver at the University of Alabama, leading the Crimson Tide to back-to-back National Championship/Orange Bowl appearances in 1965 and 1966. The Petal, Miss., native played alongside two Orange Bowl Hall of Fame Inductees in quarterbacks Joe Namath and Steve Sloan. Alabama split the two games, losing 21-17 to Texas in 1965 and beating Nebraska (and Barry Alvarez) 39-28 in 1966. Perkins scored two touchdowns and a two-point conversion in his back-to-back appearances, and his combined 244 receiving yards stood as the most in Orange Bowl history for 48 years. Perkins was drafted by the Baltimore Colts, playing wide receiver from 1967-1971 under head coach and Orange Bowl Committee member Don Shula. Following his NFL career, Perkins coached in the collegiate and professional ranks for nearly four decades, holding four head coaching jobs (New York Giants, Alabama Crimson Tide, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Arkansas State Red Wolves).

In addition to the induction on Dec. 29, the new Hall of Fame members will be introduced to the crowd during pregame at the 2016 Capital One Orange Bowl. The game features a matchup between No. 6 Michigan and No. 11 Florida State, and will be played on December 30 at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Fla.


Back to All News