Orange Bowl Announces Elementary School Media Center Makeover Project


The Orange Bowl Committee has announced a new program by which South Florida elementary schools have the opportunity to win a fully-funded media center makeover for their schools.

The Orange Bowl Media Center Makeover Project is powered by Extra Yard for Teachers, the College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation’s primary platform. Extra Yard for Teachers elevates the teaching profession by inspiring and empowering teachers through the implementation of programs in four focus areas: resources, recognition, recruitment and professional development. Overall, the CFP Foundation and its partners have donated $15 million to educational initiatives over the last four years, impacting 135,000 teachers and 4.25 million students.

Elementary school principals, teachers and administrators located in Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach Counties will have a chance to win a makeover for their schools, including new equipment, furniture, supplies, technology and more for those selected.

“We are extremely excited to provide area elementary schools with state-of-the art media centers,” said Don Slesnick, president and chair of the Orange Bowl Committee. “With the ever-increasing use of technology by both teachers and students, these new media centers will provide them with opportunities never before available.” 

The Media Center Makeover Project, powered by Extra Yard for Teachers, complies with the Orange Bowl’s mission to support and serve the South Florida community by providing enhanced learning resources, equipment and materials to give students the optimal opportunity to achieve academic success.

All elementary schools are encouraged to apply online by clicking here. Schools will be asked to provide a compelling written statement demonstrating why your school should be selected to receive a media center makeover. An optional video of up to three minutes may be submitted as well.

Online submissions will be accepted through Friday, Dec. 15 and will remain the property of the Orange Bowl Committee.  One school from each participating county, Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach will be selected.  Winners will be announced during a special presentation at the 2017 Capital One Orange Bowl on Saturday, Dec. 30 and through various social media channels.

A representative from each selected school must be in attendance at the Capital One Orange Bowl to participate in the special presentation.



Back to All News

Miami & Beaches