Orange Bowl Committee To Honor Nebraska on the 50th Anniversary of its 1966 Orange Bowl Berth


The Orange Bowl Committee is celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Nebraska Cornhuskers’ appearance in the 1966 Orange Bowl. The Cornhuskers fell to an Alabama team who clinched a National Championship with a 39-28 win.

1966_-_Nebraska_TouchdownOrange Bowl Committee members will be traveling to Lincoln to honor the team during its home game on September 12th against South Alabama. They will present members of the Nebraska’s 1966 Orange Bowl team with a commemorative game ball honoring their accomplishment and the game’s golden anniversary.

The 1966 game marked the program’s third Orange Bowl appearance and second in three years for legendary coach and Orange Bowl Hall-of-Famer Bob Devaney. It would be the beginning of a remarkable run featuring the Cornhuskers and the Orange Bowl.

Nebraska returned again in 1971, the second year of what went on to be a NCAA-record 35-year bowl streak that included 14 Orange Bowl appearances, five National Championships (four hosted by the Orange Bowl), and streaks of three and four consecutive Orange Bowl appearances (1982-84, 1992-95).

The 1966 game was Nebraska’s second appearance in a National Championship, the first of nine such appearances at an Orange Bowl Game out of the program’s total of 13. That is the most National Championship game appearances of any team at the Orange Bowl.

1966-2All-American Tony Jeter starred for the Cornhuskers in 1966, catching two touchdowns. He matched Alabama’s Ray Perkins, who each tied an Orange Bowl record at the time with their pair of touchdown receptions. Jeter caught two of quarterback Bob Churchich’s three touchdown passes in the game, also tying and Orange Bowl record at the time. Churchich added a one-yard touchdown run in the second half but the Cornhuskers could not overcome the 24-7 halftime deficit.

The 39-28 bowl game loss was the only loss for Nebraska in the 1965 season. They finished ranked No. 5 in the final AP Poll with a 10-1 record. It was the first of three times Bob Devaney would lead an undefeated season; all three of which ended with an Orange Bowl berth. The latter two were Devaney’s and the program’s first and second National Championships in 1970-71.


Back to All News

Miami & Beaches