Orange Bowl Names Honorees for its Hall of Fame Class and Edwin Pope Media Award

Bernard Clark Jr., Dewey Selmon and Grant Wistrom inducted into Orange Bowl Hall of Fame presented by AutoNation; Tony Segreto honored with Edwin Pope Orange Bowl Vanguard Media Award
MIAMI LAKES, Fla. ( – Former Miami linebacker Bernard Clark Jr., past Oklahoma linebacker Dewey Selmon and former Nebraska defensive end Grant Wistrom have been announced as the 2022 inductees to the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame presented by AutoNation. 
The 2022 Hall of Fame class will join 130 others who have made a significant impact on Orange Bowl since its inception in 1935.
Additionally, former NBC sportscaster Tony Segreto was named the 2022 recipient of the Edwin Pope Orange Bowl Vanguard Media Award, which annually honors a member of the sports media who has made significant contributions to college football and impacted the Orange Bowl and/or the South Florida community.
The four legends will be honored at the annual AvMed Orange Bowl Coaches Luncheon presented by AutoNation on December 29 at Jungle Island in Miami and will be featured in an on-field ceremony at the 2022 Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30 at Hard Rock Stadium.
Bernard Clark Jr. led Miami to its second national championship on his way to earning MVP honors in the 1988 Orange Bowl, in addition to anchoring the Hurricanes defense in Miami’s 1989 Orange Bowl victory. In the 1988 Orange Bowl, Clark Jr. finished with 14 tackles, one tackle for loss, one fumble recovery and one pass breakup in the Hurricanes’ 20-14 victory over Barry Switzer’s Oklahoma Sooners. The following year, Miami returned to the Orange Bowl, and Clark Jr. played a key role in limiting Tom Osborne’s Nebraska Cornhuskers and their top-ranked rushing offense to just three points, leading the ‘Canes to a 23-3 victory. Clark Jr. is currently the head football coach at Robert Morris University.
Dewey Selmon, one of the three “Selmon Brothers,” was a centerpiece of Coach Switzer’s Oklahoma defense in the early-to-mid-1970s and led the Sooners to a national title in the 1976 Orange Bowl. Selmon racked up 13 tackles in Oklahoma’s 14-6 victory over Michigan, holding the Wolverines to 202 yards of total offense. He was an Academic All-American in 1974 and 1975, a consensus All-American selection in 1975 and is a member of the Academic All-America Hall of Fame. Selmon was selected in the second round of the 1976 NFL Draft by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and after his playing days, returned to Oklahoma to work as an oil and gas consultant, later opening his own construction business. 
Grant Wistrom was a difference-making defensive lineman during Nebraska’s stellar run in the mid-1990s, leading the Cornhuskers to a 49-2 record, three Orange Bowl victories and three national championship titles during his four years playing for Tom Osborne. He recorded three tackles in Nebraska’s national title win in 1995 Orange Bowl, five tackles and one sack in the 1996 Orange Bowl, and two tackles, one pass breakup and one tackle for loss in the title win in the 1998 Orange Bowl. Wistrom is a two-time consensus first-team All-American, a two-time first-team Academic All-American, a Lombardi Award winner, an NCAA Top Eight Award winner, and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2009. He also founded the Grant Wistrom Foundation in 2002, which assists pediatric cancer patients.
Tony Segreto is one of the most experienced and trusted news and sports anchors in South Florida history and was an integral part of the NBC news team for 40 years. Throughout his tenure, he worked as a photographer, producer, reporter and anchor. During his local and national broadcast career, Segreto interviewed some of the world's greatest athletes including Muhammad Ali, Don Shula, Dan Marino, Olympians Jessie Owens, Bob Beamon, Carl Lewis, Mark Spitz and Greg Lougainis, among others. He covered global events including Orange Bowls, Super Bowls, World Series, NBA Championships, Stanley Cups, PGA events, Grand Slam Tennis events and Olympic Games. Segreto has also been a member of the Orange Bowl Committee since 2008.

Back to All News

2021 Hard Rock Banner