South Florida's Quinton Flowers Nominated for Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award


Flowers,_Quinton_(A.TEM.16.TP)South Florida’s Quinton Flowers is this week’s nominee for the 2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Flowers’ father was shot and killed by a stray bullet outside his home when Flowers was 7. His mother died of cancer when he was in high school. In November of 2014, Flowers’ older brother was shot and killed while playing football with kids — the same week Flowers was named the Bulls’ starting quarterback for the first time.

"I don't think that anything on the football field is gonna rattle him," USF coach Willie Taggart told in September. "He doesn't get bent out of shape. I can yell at him and he can look at me and just say: 'Alright, Coach.' "

On Wednesday, Flowers was named the American Athletic Conference offensive player of the year after leading USF to a school-best 10-2 regular-season record. The Miami native (Miami Jackson High School) finished in the top-20 of the nation in nine different categories, including finishing third in yards per carry (8.05), ninth in points responsible for (222) and 10th in total offense (331.3 ypg).

Flowers, a junior, set school single-season records for total offense (3,976 yards), rushing yards (1,425), rushing touchdowns (15), total touchdowns (37) and 300-yard total offense games (8).

Flowers became a father Sept. 26, when his girlfriend gave birth to a baby girl, Amayah.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).


Back to All News

Tire Kingdom