The 1980s

January 1, 1980

Sooners Spoil Seminole Uprising

Oklahoma    24    Florida State    7

J.C. Watts and Billy Sims each rushed for more than 100 yards and a stingy Oklahoma defense shut down undefeated and fourth-ranked Florida State for a 24-7 victory.

January 1, 1981

Wishbone Watts Airs Out FSU

Oklahoma    18    Florida State    17

Oklahoma quarterback J.C. Watts went to the air in the fourth quarter to defeat Florida State, 18-17, in an exciting finish.

January 1, 1982

Clemson Perfect In Title Game

Clemson    22    Nebraska    15

Top-ranked Clemson won its first national championship and finished with its third perfect season in its 88-year history with a 22-15 win over Nebraska in the 48th Orange Bowl.

January 1, 1983

Fumblin’ Nebraska Holds On

Nebraska    21    Louisiana State    20

Louisiana State’s Tigers came within one point of upsetting No. 3 Nebraska, but the Huskers held on to win 21-20. Despite four fumbles and a pair of interceptions, the Big Red Machine was able to come back from a 17-7 deficit to win.

January 2, 1984

Golden Game for Hurricanes

Miami    31    Nebraska    30

In arguably the greatest college football bowl game ever played, Miami won its first national championship, 31-30, after Nebraska missed a two-point conversion attempt in the 50th anniversary Orange Bowl Classic. The first Husker points came on a second period Dean Steinkuhler's controversial 19-yard "fumblerooskie" play.

January 1, 1985

Huskies Beat Sooners, Finish No. 2

Washington    28    Oklahoma    17

Washington, the first Pac-10 team to be invited to the Orange Bowl, rallied to beat No. 2 Oklahoma, 28-17.

January 1, 1986

Holieway Steers Sooners to Title

Oklahoma    25    Penn State    10

Oklahoma scored 16 second-quarter points and shut out top-ranked Penn State in the second half as it won its third national championship in the Orange Bowl.

January 1, 1987

Sooners Steamroll Razorbacks

Oklahoma    42    Arkansas    8

The University of Oklahoma capped its third consecutive season as Big 8 Champions with a 42-8 rout of the Arkansas Razorbacks in the 1987 Orange Bowl.

January 1, 1988

Miami Earns Championship Ring

Miami    20    Oklahoma    14

For the second time in five years, Miami became the national champion in the Orange Bowl, this time knocking off Oklahoma, 20-14.

January 2, 1989

‘Canes Pass Test, Finish No. 2

Miami    23    Nebraska    3

Second-ranked Miami, with no chance to repeat as national champion after undefeated Notre Dame won earlier in the day, overwhelmed Nebraska 23-3 in the 55th annual Orange Bowl. It was Head Coach Jimmy Johnson's last game at Miami before moving on to the NFL.

2022 Army Banner