Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

13631Established in 1992

In 1992, The Palm Beach County Sports Commission established the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker award. This award, presented for a number of years by the Orange Bowl Committee, is given annually to the nation’s top collegiate place-kicker as determined by a voting panel of Division 1 head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters from across the county, conference representatives, professional kickers and previous winners.

The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award has become the most prestigious college football award for kickers.

How the award is determined

Prior to the start of each college football season, the Lou Groza Award Watch List consisting of 30 players is released. This Watch List is determined based on statistics from the previous season and preseason expectations. Information is received from national media, school sports information directors and other ranking sources. However, all Division I-A kickers are eligible for the coveted award.

During the season the Groza Awards committee monitors the success of all kickers on a national level. Weekly, beginning in early September the award recognizes the three outstanding kickers of the week based on the previous week’s play.

Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award committee announces its 20 semi-finalists in early-November. From this list, a panel of over 300 experts selects the top three finalists for the award in late November. That same group then selects the national winner.

The three finalists are invited to Palm Beach County, Florida after the end of the college season for the Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Banquet, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee. This gala three-day program recognizes the accomplishments of the kickers in a variety of community outreach activities culminating with an awards banquet that is the start of the South Florida holiday football season.

The announcement of the winner is made during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show broadcast live from Orlando, Florida in early December.

Lou Groza Award Committee

The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award is a program of the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.  The program is directed by the Lou Groza Award Committee consisting of:

William C. Davis, Chair
John DeMott, Vice Chair
Sam Budnyk
Hamid Faquire
Jeremy Marks-Peltz
Patrick McGlon III
Doug Mosley
Steve Politziner
Eric Poms
Will Rhody
Dan Smith
Jim Watt

Past Winners

2021 Jake Moody Michigan
2020 Jose Borregales Miami
2019 Rodrigo Blankenship Georgia
2018 Andre Szmyt Syracuse
2017 Matt Gay Utah
2016 Zane Gonzalez Arizona State
2015 Ka‘imi Fairbairn UCLA
2014 Brad Craddock Maryland
2013 Roberto Aguayo Florida State
2012 Cairo Santos Tulane
2011      Randy Bullock Texas A&M
2010 Dan Bailey Oklahoma State
2009 Kai Forbath UCLA
2008 Graham Gano Florida State
2007 Thomas Weber Arizona State
2006 Arthur Carmody Louisville
2005 Alexis Serna Oregon State
2004 Mike Nugent Ohio State
2003 Jonathan Nichols Mississippi
2002 Nate Kaeding Iowa
2001 Seth Marler Tulane
2000 Jonathan Ruffin Cincinnati
1999 Sebastian Janokowski Florida State
1998 Sebastian Janokowski Florida State
1997 Martin Grammatica Kansas State
1996 Marc Primanti North Carolina State
1995 Michael Reeder Texas Christian
1994 Steve McLaughlin Arizona
1993 Judd Davis Florida
1992 Joe Allison Memphis State