Washington State’s Riley Sorenson Nominated for the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award


Sorenson-Falk-2016-IdahoWashington State’s Riley Sorenson is this week’s nominee for the 2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Over the past nine months alone, Sorenson, a senior center, lost his father and mother to a heart attack and cancer, respectively. On top of that, Sorenson was diagnosed with testicular cancer just days after his mother’s funeral in May. He had surgery to remove a testicle and, after receiving five opinions, was eventually told that chemotherapy would not be needed.

Sorenson stayed at home in Southern California this summer to take care of his younger brother and sister. He returned to Pullman for the start of fall camp and has not missed a practice or game, starting all three contests for the Cougars.

“I was just starting to come to terms with my dad being gone and then my mom’s thing happened,” Sorenson told the (Spokane) Spokesman-Review in August. “It was pretty bad. But even when it comes to something like that, everyone’s going to understand if you get hung up or need to take some time off. I feel like I’m pretty comfortable with it mentally. I’ve still got some stuff I need to think through, but I’m good to play, I’m good to be around people.”

Sorenson currently lives with his brother in Pullman, and his sister is now a freshman at Boise State.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).


Back to All News

Miami & Beaches